Catch a falling star and put it in your pocket…

A lot has happened since my last bird post at the end of September, I’ve sold 5 of the bird drawings, done a Kingfisher to commission, I’ve had a visit from an old friend who is a printer and knitter, and during her short stay we visited several galleries, a kaleidoscopic wool shop and had a wonderful visit to Anthony Gormley’s ‘Another Place’, at Crosby Beach, and I celebrated my birthday.

My best present was a superpower, I now have ‘ultraHDseefarawayavision’… a pair of binoculars.  I now keep them by my drawing board, which faces the window, so that I can scrutinise every bird that flits into the garden. I’ve not stopped being amazed and excited by seeing them close up yet, and I’m beginning to recognise some species!

This week I’ve started working on a portrait project.  The commission is to produce a couple of portraits of two lovely children who’s names both mean ‘star’, Stella and Esther. I’m not able to meet the girls in person, so I’m working solely from photographs provided by my client, luckily she’s providing lots!

It’s quite a while since I have drawn humans and not birds!! But I’ve really had fun drawing these pocket size stars this week. Drawing happy, smiley children really lifts your spirits.

My client is quite interested in an illustrative piece as well as the more traditional portraits, but we’re not sure where that’s going yet. I’ve been working in my sketchbook  and here are my drawings so far.

4 thoughts on “Catch a falling star and put it in your pocket…

Comments

