Alphabetical Archival Advent Calendar – Rhyme, ‘Ride a Cock-Horse’

R is for the nursery rhyme – Ride a cock-horse to Banbury Cross, To see a fine lady upon a white horse. With rings on her fingers and bells on her toes, she shall have music wherever she goes!! [Experimental illustration 2011.]

Day 17 already! It’s been fun rummaging around the artwork that I have digital files for. I’d forgotten about some of them, and I am now aware of how haphazard my filling system is!!!! Oh, there’s been a few half hearted attempts at creating neatly pigeonholed files, accurately labelled and dated, but clearly this is not my forte!!!

Nursery Rhymes – I’ve always been a fan of the traditional english nursery rhyme, especially when I was a primary school teacher. They are a massive part of our heritage, and reciting them and playing with the rhythms and silliness of them is very important in the development of speaking and listening skills in the very young. Sadly when I talk to children in schools they all too often have no knowledge of our traditional rhymes.

They are something I come back to now and again,  I’ve illustrated quite a few just for fun  and I like to include children in a slightly odd role, playing a character or observing a scene.

 

Comments

