‘I’ said the wren, both cock and hen…

After spending a few days preparing a lecture that I am delivering to B.Ed students on Thursday in Manchester I have spent a very pleasant afternoon completing the wrens drawing.

I think wrens are officially my favourite bird, there’s a particularly cute one who lives in my garden that I often watch hopping about in the most overgrown bits. I’ve never been able to find it’s nest though.

The wrens appear in the cock robin poem before the thrush and they agree to carry the pall, which is a cloth that is draped over a coffin. I decided that these tiny little birds should fetch a delicate spiders web.

Drawing the web was a challenge but with the aid of several ‘magic pens’ I think it looks pretty good. The sky in this one were inspire by a photograph I took in Blackpool a few years ago.

I am under strict instructions to only post details. There are plans afoot for a bit of vanity publishing in the future so you’ll have to wait to see the whole image. Oh and  I only have an A4 scanner!!

wrensdetail

Wren detail

P1030280

 

 

Inspiring clouds over Blackpool

Comments

