‘I’ said the Wren, both cock & hen

Spider’s webs & day light bulbs mess with your head.

I couldn’t sleep on Tuesday night for reasons unknown, just one of those things. So instead of tossing and turning I got up, made a cup of tea, wrapped myself in the furry blanket and sat at my drawing table, popped in my iPod and worked happily listening to my brand new John Martyn covers album. (a recent and unexpected birthday present.) Next thing I knew it was 4am! But I felt bright and alert, my eyes didn’t hurt, I probably could have work ALL night if it wasn’t for getting cramp in my hand!

Work in  progress; Detail Verse 11. ‘I’ said the Wren, both cock & hen

wren blog

Line drawing and underpainting.

wrenbog2

Four hours  of ‘magic pen’ drawing!!!! Hundreds of dots and fine lines. I usually use an empty biro or embossing tool to impress lines freely and spontaneously across the paper, but the lines and dots had to be controlled and considered for the spiders web to work.  Of course I could have done it in photoshop, but where’s the pleasure in that?

I’m not sure yet of my success, I’ll save my judgement till the drawing is complete but I would appreciate critique from arty followers.

2 thoughts on “‘I’ said the Wren, both cock & hen

Comments

